College of Medicine Honors Cardiology’s Drs. Schweitzer, Kern for Their Mentorship

Drs. Nancy Sweitzer and Karl KernUniversity of Arizona cardiologists Nancy Sweitzer, MD, PhD, and Karl Kern, MD, co-directors of the UA Sarver Heart Center, were both recognized with honorable mentions for their mentorship during the UA College of Medicine – Tucson General Faculty Meeting held May 3 in Kiewit Auditorium.

The recognition was included in the 2018 College of Medicine Faculty Mentoring Awards presented by Dean Charles Cairns, MD, and the Dean’s Council on Faculty Affairs. Fifteen faculty members were honored.

Winning the awards were: Helen Amerongen, PhD, professor, Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine; Anne E. Cress, PhD, professor, Cellular and Molecular Medicine; Rajesh Khanna, PhD, professor, Department of Pharmacology; Kathryn Reed, MD, professor and chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology; Marc Tischler, PhD, professor, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry; and Dale Woolridge, MD, PhD, professor, Department of Emergency Medicine.

Among others receiving honorable mentions were: Srikar Adhikari, MD (Emergency Medicine); Harold Cross, MD, PhD (Ophthalmology); Carol Gregorio, PhD (Cellular and Molecular Medicine); Andrew Karellas, PhD (Medical Imaging); Sam Keim, MD (Emergency Medicine); Harvey Meislin, MD (Emergency Medicine); and Barry Weiss, MD (Family and Community Medicine).

Dr. Cairns thanked each for their contribution and leadership.

Both Dr. Sweitzer and Kern also are professors of medicine in the UA Division of Cardiology, of which Dr. Sweitzer is chief. Dr. Kern is also chair of the center’s Resuscitation Research Group and the Gordon A. Ewy, MD, Distinguished Endowed Chair for Cardiovascular Medicine.

If you missed the meeting, you can view the agenda and other actions taken at this link: May 3, 2018, COM – T General Faculty Meeting.

“Three DOM Physicians—Drs. Tardiff, Mosier and Kwoh—Recognized at 2017 COM Faculty Mentoring Awards” | Posted May 18, 2017
"Sleep Medicine’s Parthasarathy to Receive 2016 COM Faculty Mentoring Award" | Posted May 20, 2016

Release Date: 
05/04/2018 - 4:45pm