Faculty and Staff

The Thomas D. Boyer Liver Institute conducts research on, teaches about and provides comprehensive care for diagnosis and treatment of medical conditions of the liver. It is a unit of the UA Department of Medicine and the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson.

University of Arizona Thomas D. Boyer Liver Institute
1501 N. Campbell Ave.
PO Box 245136
Tucson, AZ  85724-5136
Tel: (520) 626-3005
Fax: (520) 626-5975

Faculty

Juanita L. Merchant, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Chief, Division of Gastroenterology
Director, Thomas D. Boyer Liver Institute
Research Member, Cancer Biology Program, University of Arizona Cancer Center
(520) 626-3334
jmerchant@email.arizona.edu

 

Geoffrey D. Block, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine
Transplant Hepatologist
Medical Director, Liver Transplant
(520) 626-3005
gdblock@deptofmed.arizona.edu

 

Rolando J. Leal, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine
Transplant Hepatologist
(520) 626-3005
rleal@deptofmed.arizona.edu
 

Research Staff

Fran Drake, RN
Senior Research Nurse
Phone: (520) 626-7210
Fax: (520) 626-9815
Email: francesd@deptofmed.arizona.edu 
 

Maria Santa Cruz
Research Specialist
Phone: (520) 626-0706
Fax: (520) 626-9815
Email: msantacr@deptofmed.arizona.edu
 

Shamam Hashim
Data Entry Specialist
Phone: (520) 626-5667
Fax: (520) 626-9815
Email: shamamhashim@deptofmed.arizona.edu

 

Clinical Staff

Carol Peters, NP 
Nurse Practitioner
Phone: (520) 694-6118
Fax: (520) 874-7105
Email: cpeters2@deptofmed.arizona.edu

 

Gloria V. Schneider, NP 
Nurse Practitioner
Phone: (520) 694-6073
Fax: (520) 874-7105
Email: gloria.schneider@bannerhealth.com 

 

Mirna Cano, MA
Medical Assistant, Intake Coordinator for Hep C Program
Phone: (520) 694-6125
Fax: (520) 874-7105
Email: mirna.cano@bannerhealth.com

Janet Serrano, MA
Medical Assistant, Care Coordinator for Hep C Program
Phone: (520) 694-6118
Fax: (520) 874-7105
Email: janet.serrano@bannerhealth.com

Office Staff

Lisa Laughlin
Administrative Associate
Phone: (520) 626-3005
Fax: (520) 626-5975
Email: laughlin@deptofmed.arizona.edu