News Archive: 2022

Remembering Frank Marcus, MD, Founding Faculty Member
December 22, 2022

With great sadness, we announce that Frank Marcus, MD, professor emeritus who dedicated more than 50 years to the Division of Cardiology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson and the Sarver Heart Center, passed away at the age of 94. Dr. Marcus was born on March 23, 1928, in Haverstraw, New York, to Samuel and Edith Marcus....

Applying A Team Approach to Health Care Education
December 14, 2022
Interprofessional education modules at the Arizona Simulation Technology and Education Center teach students the importance of teamwork in health care.

All of Us UArizona-Banner Announces Seed Project Awardees
December 5, 2022
Five new seed projects will use the All of Us Research Program dataset to start a wide variety of new studies.

Liao Named New Department of Medicine Chair
November 29, 2022
A fellow of the American College of Cardiology and the American College of Physicians, James Liao, MD, joins the University of Arizona Health Sciences from the University of Chicago.

Multigenerational Faculty Members Take Long View
November 17, 2022

Parent-child faculty combos have a deeply invested view on how the College of Medicine – Tucson has evolved over the past 55 years, including Drs. Leslie Boyer and her father, Dr. John T. "Jack" Boyer, who founded three divisions in the Department of Medicine.

Video: Founder’s Day Lecture honors Dr. Sairam Parthasarathy
November 17, 2022

Honored as the 2023 Founders Day keynote speaker, University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson pulmonary division chief Dr. Parthasarathy is a nationally recognized expert in sleep medicine, conducting important research on sleep, breathing and inflammation.

UArizona Arthritis Center Awarded $3.4M to Study Rapid Knee Deterioration
October 18, 2022

Rheumatology Division Chief Dr. C. Kent Kwoh will lead a study that seeks to develop methods to predict who will experience rapid knee deterioration or need knee replacements in the future.

Dr. Curiel-Lewandrowski Accepted into Leadership Fellowship
October 17, 2022

Clara Curiel-Lewandrowski, MD, professor of medicine and Division of Dermatology chief in the UArizona College of Medicine – Tucson has been accepted into the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) program. ELAM involves an intensive 1-year fellowship at Philadelphia's Drexel University.

Scholarship Program Welcomes Latest Cohort of Future Physicians
September 15, 2022
Twenty-seven medical students have been awarded scholarships through the Primary Care Physician Scholarship Program.

COM-T Faculty Honored with Mentoring Awards
September 1, 2022

The Department of Medicine's Rachna Shroff, MD, was among nine UArizona College of Medicine – Tucson faculty to receive 2022 Faculty Mentoring Awards at the May 19 General Faculty Meeting. A professor of medicine, Dr. Shroff is the college's associate dean, Clinical and Translational Research, and interim chief, Division of Hematology & Oncology.

Parthasarathy Named All of Us Arizona Health Champion for August
August 30, 2022
Dr. Sairam Parthasarathy is being honored for his dedication to educating communities about COVID-19 prevention and vaccination.

COM-T Faculty and Departments Honored with Excellence Awards
August 29, 2022

Among Department of Medicine faculty recognized with 2022 Faculty Excellence Awards at the college's May 19 general faculty meeting were Jarrod M. Mosier, MD; Steffan T. Nawrocki, PhD; Tara Carr, MD; James Knepler, MD; and Lawrence Mandarino, PhD. Also participating as presenters from the department were Rachna Shroff, MD, and Kevin Moynahan, MD.

Women of Impact Awards Include Six from Health Sciences
August 22, 2022

Jennifer Carew, MD, was one of six UArizona Health Sciences women to receive Women of Impact Awards from the Office of Research, Innovation and Impact as part of inaugural honors for Women’s History Month announced in March. A professor of medicine, Dr. Carew is also co-director of the UArizona Cancer Center's Hematological Malignancies Disease Team.

Center for Sleep and Circadian Sciences Construction Underway
August 11, 2022

A new location will give investigators, led by Pulmonary division chief Dr. Sai Parthasarathy, access to state-of-the-art technology to conduct sleep and circadian rhythm research.

Dr. John Galgiani Wins Inaugural UArizona Director’s Award
August 8, 2022

The University of Arizona Valley Fever Center for Excellence founding director and professor of medicine was honored as one of 25 faculty members singled out for excellence in teaching, scholarship and outreach.

White Coat Ceremony Celebrates Next Generation of Physicians
August 2, 2022
University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson medical students received their white coats representing their future profession on July 29 at Centennial Hall.

Dr. Kevin Moynahan Receives AMSA National Golden Apple Award
June 20, 2022

Kevin Moynahan, MD, FACP, University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson professor of medicine and vice dean for education, received the 2022 National Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence from the American Medical Student Association.

Boosting Science Through Social Media
June 13, 2022

With billions of people using social media globally, Health Sciences researchers and academicians like Dr. Indu Partha have an opportunity to communicate science to a wider audience than ever before.

Dr. Juanita Merchant Awarded Second Term on NAM Council
June 9, 2022

Juanita Merchant, MD, PhD, University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson professor in the Department of Medicine and chief of the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, was named to a second term on the National Academy of Medicine Council.

Dr. Andrew Weil Receives Integrative Healthcare Leader Award
June 6, 2022

World-renowned author and integrative medicine expert, Andrew Weil, MD, founder and director of the Andrew Weil Center for Integrative Medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson, was recognized with the top award given by the Integrative Healthcare Symposium.