Sleep Medicine’s Parthasarathy to Receive COM Faculty Mentoring Award, May 25

Sairam Parthsarathy, MDThe head of sleep medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine, Sairam Parthasarathy, MD, is one of several faculty physicians who will be honored at the college’s General Faculty Meeting on May 25, 4:30-5:30 p.m., in Kiewit Auditorium., with 2016 College of Medicine Faculty Mentoring Awards.

In acknowledging the award, co-chairs of the Dean’s Council on Faculty Affairs, Anne Wright, PhD, and Alice A. Min, MD, wrote: “The letter nominating you spoke eloquently of your generosity, thoughtfulness, and commitment to the success of junior faculty members whom you have mentored. Mentoring is a selfless undertaking that benefits both individual faculty members and the institution. Faculty like you, who engage in mentoring consistently and at the highest level, support the career development of our junior faculty and make the University of Arizona College of Medicine a better place to teach, work and learn.”

Dr. Wright is senior associate dean for faculty affairs. Dr. Min is an assistant professor of emergency medicine. A reception will be held after the faculty meeting on behalf of our outstanding mentors.

“I’m deeply honored,” Dr. Parthasarathy said of the recognition. “If only because I’m passionate about mentoring, this is special for me, probably moreso than other awards I’ve received. To me, it’s a calling I value very much.”

Dr. Parthasarathy, a professor of medicine in the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine, medical director of the Center for Sleep Studies, program director of the Sleep Medicine Fellowship, joined faculty at the college in 2011. Before that, he was affiliated with the Southern Arizona VA Health Care System, Edward Hines Jr. VA Hospital in Chicago, and Loyola University Medical Center in Chicago also.

Under his leadership, the UA Center for Sleep Disorders opened in January 2012. In 2014, the center was accredited by the American Academy of Sleep Medicine (AASM) to perform out-of-center sleep testing and Dr. Parthasarathy’s research team was awarded $2 million by the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) to study sleep apnea. They’ve since made a number of findings, including a link between persistent insomnia, inflammation and mortality. Learn more about the UA Sleep Medicine program here.

For a faculty meeting agenda, click on Upcoming Events at the Faculty Affairs webpage for the UA College of Medicine – Tucson. 

COM Mentor AwardeesALSO SEE: 
"COM-T faculty mentors honored for dedication and positive influence" – Honorees include Judith Gordon, PhD, Paul Gordon, PhD, John Hughes, MD, Paul Krieg, PhD, Sairam Parthasarathy, MD, and Baldassarre Stea, MD, PhD...
Publish Date: Saturday, June 4, 2016 - 12:15pm

Release Date: 
05/20/2016 - 2:30pm