Resident, Fellow Headed to 2017 ATS Conference Courtesy of Bressler-Alpert Travel Fund

American Thoracic Society 2017 International Conference flyer imageTwo additional physicians in training within the University of Arizona Department of Medicine have received Bressler-Alpert Travel Awards to assist them in presenting their research at conferences.

They include a Critical Care & Sleep Medicine fellow within the Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine and a resident in the UA College of Medicine Internal Medicine Residency Program – Tucson Campus.

Both will be attending the American Thoracic Society (ATS) 2017 International Conference in Washington, DC, May 19-24, 2017. 

A third physician, a Tucson Campus IM resident, also will be attending ATS 2017 courtesy of an Abstract Scholarship she won to present on her research.

From left, Drs. Dill and Low—Bressler-Alpert travel award winners—and Goel—an ATS scholarship winner—will attend ATS 2017 in the nation's capital in May. See an update about two more UA scholarship winners and others attending here.

They and the titles of their ATS presentations are listed below:

  • Joshua Dill, DO — Critical Care & Sleep Medicine fellow
    “Use of Renal Replacement Therapy in Patients with Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome:  A Single Center Retrospective Review”
  • See-Wei Low, MBBS — Tucson Campus resident
    “Endobronchial Valves Therapy for Advanced Emphysema: A Meta-Analysis”
  • Khushboo Goel, MD — Tucson Campus resident
    “Trends in COPD Hospitalization and In-Hospital Mortality in the United States by Sex and Race: 2005-2012”

ATS Abstract Scholarship winner Dr. Goel also won a Bressler-Alpert travel award in January to present at the 46th Annual Critical Care Congress in Honolulu on “CURB-65 Score Correlates with ICU Admission and In-Hospital Mortality in Patients with Sepsis.”

Along with Hematology and Medical Oncology fellow Abhijeet Kumar, MD, who received a December award to present at the 2016 American Society of Hematology Annual Meeting, that brings to four the number of DOM physicians in training who’ve received travel assistance in the last six months. 

Since the launch of the Bressler-Alpert Society and the Bressler-Alpert Travel Assistance Fund in late 2012, there have been more than 35 travel awards presented to showcase the innovative, groundbreaking research they’ve been a part of at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson at premier conferences around the world. To view all recipients of the Bressler-Alpert travel assistance awards, click here.

The Bressler-Alpert Society and Bressler-Alpert Travel Assistance Fund were created in August 2012 through the generosity of current and former faculty, and alumni of the University of Arizona Department of Medicine.

The award and the society of UA faculty and alumni that fund it are named for Ruben Bressler, MD, and Joseph K. Alpert, MD, who served previously as department chairs over four decades—Dr. Bressler, 1976-92, and Dr. Alpert, 1992-2006. Dr. Alpert continues to practice in the UA Division of Cardiology, and is a UA Sarver Heart Center member and editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Medicine.

To learn more, click on the “Ways to Give” button at the top right of any webpage on the UA Department of Medicine website. All dues and donations are tax deductible.

Click here to donate to the fund! 

"UA Presence at American Thoracic Society 2017 International Conference More Expansive" | Posted May 2, 2017

Release Date: 
04/24/2017 - 5:30pm