Sarver Heart Center Recognizes Seven Graduating 2017 Cardiology Fellows

The University of Arizona Division of Cardiology and UA Sarver Heart Center recently celebrated the graduation of several fellows from its two fellowship training programs. Fellows also presented awards to faculty and the SAVAHCS Cardiology Fellow of the Year was recognized.

UA Cardiovascular Disease Fellows - Class of 2017 graduates with Dr. Julia IndikCardiovascular Disease Program Fellows, Class of 2017, from left: Satinder Singh, MD, Ily Kristine T. Yumul, MD, Julia Indik, MD, PhD (fellowships program director), Rostam Khoubyari, MD, Kahroba Jahan, MD, Jaskanwal, Bisla, MD.

Five fellows graduated from the Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship Program (and where they’re headed):

Jaskanwal Bisla, MD – Stanford University’s Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship
Kahroba Jahan, MD – private practice, Tucson
Rostam Khoubyari, MD – private practice, Tucson
Ily Kristine Yumul-Non, MD – Advanced Heart Failure and Cardiac Transplantation Fellowship, University of California - San Diego
Satinder Singh, MD – University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson assistant professor at Banner University Medical Center – South

Two graduated from the Interventional Cardiology Fellowship Program:

Jagdesh Kandala, MD – private practice, Cooperstown, N.Y.
Clint Joseph Oommen, MD – private practice, Delmarva Heart, Salisbury, Md.

Inventional Cardiology Fellows, Class of 2017, from left: Karl B. Kern, MD, professor of medicine, Jagdesh Kandala, MD, Clint Oommen, MD, and Huu Tam Truong, MD, assistant professof of medicine. UA Interventional Cardiology Fellows - Class of 2017 graduates with Drs. Karl Kern and Huu Tam Truong

Several awards also were presented.

Fellows awards to faculty:

  • Mark Friedman, MD, and Prakash Suryanarayana, MBBS –  Best Fellowship Mentor
  • Barry Karas, MD –  Best Teaching Faculty
  • Nancy Sweitzer, MD, PhD – Best Lecturer
  • Mark Friedman, MD – Best Clinical Faculty
  • Joseph Alpert, MD – Best Clinic Preceptor
  • Karl Kern, MD, and Ranjith Shetty, MD – Best Attending (to be on call with)

Southern Arizona VA Health Care System (SAVAHCS) Cardiology Fellow of the Year Award:

  • Huu Tam Truong, MD, presented this to Ily Kristine Yumul-Non, MD

Besides the Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship and Interventional Fellowship programs, the UA Division of Cardiology—which operates largely through the UA Sarver Heart Center—has newly accredited programs in Advanced Heart Failure and Transplant Cardiology Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology. Recruitment into future classes of these fellowships has begun.

Learn more:

—Katie Maass and David Mogollón

Release Date: 
06/30/2017 - 12:30pm
Original Story: