UA Cancer Center Seeks Nominees for Third Annual Hero Awards

Image of flyer for UACC Hero Awards nomination requestsThe University of Arizona Cancer Center has issued a call for nominations for the its 2018 Hero Awards to help it recognize exemplary faculty and staff. It’s the third year for the awards.

“At the Cancer Center, we are grateful to have so many talented, kind, and dedicated individuals on our team. Often, our days are so full that we forget to stop and appreciate those going above and beyond expectations,” said Chad Adams, MPH, assistant director for cancer clinical research.

Please download, post and share the flyer for these awards:  uacc-hero-awards_2018_flyer.pdf

The purpose of this award, he said, is to recognize outstanding achievement, exceptional contributions, service, and unity. Criteria address employee/faculty achievements in programmatic efforts that have a significant impact on research at the UACC. Nominees should be engaged in activities that support a combination of strategic efforts, including collaboration, efficiency efforts, operational support, team morale building, research and/or research supportive activities, and mentoring, which promote research excellence.

Plaque for UA Cancer Center Hero Award winners“We will recognize a total of four people for the 2018 Hero Award, highlighting both faculty and staff from Tucson and Phoenix,” Adams said. “Each awardee will receive a $100 gift card and an appreciation award. Additionally, all awardees will be recognized on a plaque that will be displayed publicly within the University of Arizona Cancer Center.”

He added, “I strongly encourage you to think of an individual who exemplifies the qualities outlined above, and who is deserving of being nominated. You can also support a nomination submitted by a colleague.”

Nominations are due by November 30, 2018. For more information and to submit your nominations, visit

Prior Hero Award Winners

Carroll Dendler with UACC Director Dr. Andrew KraftDr. Cynthia Miranti with UACC Director Dr. Andrew KraftCarroll Dendler (far right with UACC Director Andrew Kraft, MD) was the 2017 staff recipient of the UACC Hero Award. She was the principal accountant in the Finance Office, where she played a major role in overseeing our Cancer Center Support Grant (CCSG) budget. She retired in April 2018.

Cynthia Miranti, PhD (on left at right with Dr. Kraft), was the 2017 faculty recipient of the UACC Hero Award. She is the program leader for Prostate Cancer Research and a professor of cellular & molecular medicine at the UA College of Medicine - Tucson.

Nurse Diane Resnvold and Dr. Tracy CraneThe 2016 Hero Award recipients were Diane Rensvold, RN (staff), a senior research nurse in the Clinical Trials Office, and Tracy Crane, PhD (faculty), an assistant professor of nursing and public health who does research in the Cancer Prevention and Control Program.

Questions? Contact Chad at or (520) 626-0082.

“Latest UA Cancer Center Hero Awards Goes to Miranti, Dendler” | Posted Aug. 15, 2017

Release Date: 
11/15/2018 - 7:45am