People on the Move at University of Arizona Health Sciences

Drs. Steven J. Barker, Karen Herbst and C. Kent Kwoh, three University of Arizona Health Sciences affiliated faculty and medical researchers, were recognized by various organizations for outstanding contributions in their fields.

UA Anesthesiology Professor Steven J. Barker, PhD, MD, Honored with Two Lifetime Achievement Technology Awards

Steven J. Barker, PhD MD, Professor Emeritus and former head of the Department of Anesthesiology at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson, earns two lifetime achievement awards for his dedication and innovation in anesthesiology.

Two professional organizations, the Society for Technology in Anesthesia and the international symposium Innovations and Applications of Monitoring Perfusion, Oxygenation and Ventilation, have honored Dr. Barker with Lifetime Achievement Awards. To see more, please click here, or visit:

LA Music Awards Honors UA Physician, Researcher, Professor Karen Herbst, MD

Karen Herbst, MD, PhDKaren Herbst, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine in the Division of Endocrinology at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson, was recognized at the 25th Annual Los Angeles Music Awards for her compassionate care of people with adipose tissue disorders. Dr. Herbst was named Humanitarian of the Year for Medical Research of Rare Tissue Disorders, having been nominated by a patient she diagnosed and is treating for Dercum’s disease.

Dr. Herbst, a board-certified endocrinologist, walked the red carpet with her patient Brian Sirk who nominated her for the Producer’s Choice Humanitarian of the Year award. She was announced the winner for her “Medical Research of Rare Tissue Disorders” during a ceremony at the Whisky a Go-Go, a famous nightspot on West Hollywood’s Sunset Strip, in September. To see more, please click here, or visit:

UA Rheumatology Chief C. Kent Kwoh, MD, Takes Top Asian American Faculty Award

Rheumatologist C. Kent Kwoh, MD, a professor of medicine and medical imaging at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson, has been named the UA Asian American Faculty, Staff and Alumni Association (AAFSAA) top professor for 2015.

The AAFSAA Outstanding Faculty Award will be presented to Dr. Kwoh, who is the Charles A.L. and Suzanne M. Stephens Chair of Rheumatology, chief of the UA Division of Rheumatology and director of the UA Arthritis Center, at the organization’s 26th Annual Scholarship & Awards Dinner Celebration on Saturday, Nov. 7 at the Tucson Chinese Cultural Center (TCCC), 1288 W. River Road. To see more, please click here, or visit:

Release Date: 
11/02/2015 - 7:30am
Original Story: