Julia Indik, MD, PhD

  • Professor of Medicine, Division of Cardiology
  • Flinn Foundation and American Heart Association Endowed Chair in Electrophysiology and Heart Disease Research
  • Program Director, Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology Fellowship

Julia H. Indik, MD, PhD, is a professor of medicine at the University of Arizona College of Medicine - Tucson. She completed her undergraduate work at Princeton University and then continued at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where she received her doctorate in physics.  She moved to Tucson 1986 to work at Steward Observatory at the University of Arizona as a postdoctoral research associate.

However, she decided to change career directions and enrolled in the UArizona College of Medicine where she earned her MD in 1996 and continued in the Department of Medicine to complete internship and residency training.  She received her cardiology fellowship training at the University of Arizona and followed with a year of electrophysiology fellowship training which she completed in June of 2003. She is the holder of the Flinn Foundation and American Heart Association Endowed Chair in Electrophysiology and is the Director of the Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship Program.

Her research has included the study of waveform characteristics of ventricular fibrillation and its relationship to heart failure and myocardial infarction in the context of resuscitation research with Dr. Karl Kern. She is also involved in  arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia, with Dr. Frank Marcus. She is involved in various activities of the American College of Cardiology and the Heart Rhythm Society to promote professional education and the development of clinical consensus statements and guidelines.

Research Interests: 

Waveform properties of ventricular fibrillation Arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia/cardiomyopathy Resuscitation science

  • AB: Princeton University, Astrophysics, summa cum laude
  • PhD: Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Physics
  • MD: University of Arizona College of Medicine, 1996
Honors and Awards
  • Elected Member, Phi Beta Kappa, 1982
  • Elected Member, Sigma Xi Science Honor Society, 1985
  • McGraw Hill Award, University of Arizona College of Medicine, 1992
  • Award for Academic Excellence and Achievement, American Society of Clinical Pathologists, 1994
  • Letters of Special Commendation for performance in medical school, Student Progress Committee - University of Arizona College of Medicine, 1994, 1995
  • President, Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society - Arizona AOA chapter, 1995-1996.
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement in Pathology, 1996
  • M.D. Award for Outstanding Students of Medicine, Jay W. Smith, 1996
  • Eleanor Johnson Academic Excellence Award, 1996
  • Excellence in Research Award, Honors and Awards Committee, 1996
  • Janet M. Glasgow Memorial Award to the Most Outstanding Female Medical Student, American Medical Women’s Association, 1996
  • Arizona Foundation Outstanding Senior Award, 1996
  • Jr. Memorial Award for outstanding service on the Coronary Care Unit, Charles W. Hall, 1998
  • The Colonel Stanley Trachta Memorial Heart Disease Research Award, 2001
  • Endowed Chair in Electrophysiology, Flinn Foundation and American Heart Association, 2005
  • Participant, American College of Cardiology Foundation Emerging Faculty Program, 2006
  • Resuscitation Best Abstract Award, American Heart Association Scientific Sessions, AHA Council on Cardiopulmonary, Perioperative and Critical Care November 2006, 2006
  • Proctor Harvey Teaching Award, American College of Cardiology (awarded at the annual scientific sessions of the American College of Cardiology March 2007), 2007
  • Best Doctors in America, 2007-2008
  • Affiliate, American Heart Association
  • Affiliate, American Medical Association
  • Affiliate, American College of Cardiology
  • Fellow, North American Society of Pacing and Electrophysiology
  • University of Arizona, Internal Medicine
  • University of Arizona, Electrophysiology
Board Certifications
  • American Board of Internal Medicine, Internal Medicine - General
  • American Board of Internal Medicine, Cardiovascular Disease - Subspecialty
  • American Board of Internal Medicine, Clinical Cardiac Electrophysiology - Subspecialty