Dr. Swazo Named Latest Bressler-Alpert Society Travel Award Winner

Dr. Roberto SwazoRoberto Swazo, MD, a third-year (PGY-3) resident in the University of Arizona Internal Medicine Residency Program at South Campus, is the third person this academic year to win a Bressler-Alpert Society Travel Award.

Dr. Swazo will be presenting on his research, “The Incomplete Appreciation of Acuity in Federally Funded Acute Lung Injury Research,” at the 47th Critical Care Congress of the Society of Critical Care Medicine, hosted Feb. 25-28, 2018, at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, Texas.

He was congratulated for the award by Amy Sussman, MD, vice chair for education, UA Department of Medicine, Eugene Trowers, MD, MPH, the residency program director, and Jarrod Mosier, MD, associate program director of the Critical Care Fellowship in the UA Division of Pulmonary, Allergy, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine — one of 14 divisions in the UA Department of Medicine.

“Well deserved,” Dr. Mosier added.

The Bressler-Alpert Society Travel Award was created in August 2012 through the generosity of current and former faculty and alumni of the department. The award supports the educational mission of the department by funding travel for medical students, residents and fellows in internal medicine when presenting the findings of their high-quality research at academic meetings.

To date, some 40 people have been awarded travel assistance funds since the society’s inception. You can see the “roll call” of faces with their projects and where they presented at this link.

In addition, so far this year, there have been 21 donations to the Bressler-Alpert Society, which funds the travel awards. This includes 10 in July, two in August, eight in September and one in November by Paula Bressler, the widow of Rubin Bressler, MD, who led the UA Department of Medicine from 1976-92.

Other society members, in addition to Mrs. Bressler, include: Joseph Alpert, MD; Julie Bauman, MD; Tara Carr, MD; Elizabeth Connick, MD; Phillip Factor, DO; Joao Ferreira, MD; Catherine Bree Johnston, MD, MPH; Elizabeth Juneman, MD; Monica Kraft, MD; Peter Lance, MD; Laura Meinke, MD; John Po, MD, PhD; Prabir Roy-Chaudhury, MD, PhD; Linda Snyder, MD; Dr. Sussman; Dr. Trowers; Tejo Vemulapalli, MD; Andrew Yeager, MD; and Tirdad Zangeneh, DO.

To learn more about, join or contribute to the Bressler-Alpert Society and Travel Assistance Fund, see this link.

"South Campus Resident, Infectious Diseases Fellow Latest to Benefit from Bressler-Alpert Society" | Posted Sept. 12, 2017

Release Date: 
12/12/2017 - 6:45pm