Four from Department of Medicine Honored with First-Ever COM-T Clinical Excellence Awards

Image for UA College of Medicine - Tucson 2018 Clinical Excellence AwardsThree physicians in the University of Arizona Department of Medicine and one from the Department of Pathology with a dual appointment in the DOM’s Division of Nephrology will be among 10 faculty members to be presented with inaugural Clinical Excellence Awards from the UA College of Medicine – Tucson.

The recognition will take place Nov. 7 at the college’s General Faculty Meeting in Kiewit Auditorium.

DOM doctors who are scheduled to be recognized include:

Dr. Bujji AinapurapuBujji Ainapurapu, MD

Dr. Ainapurapu is an assistant professor in the UA Division of Inpatient Medicine, associate director of the UA Internal Medicine Residency Program – South Campus, and a hospitalist at Banner – University Medical Center South.

"I just would like to thank my residents/students and some wonderful colleagues and staff at South Campus for the amazing teamwork as this wouldn't have been possible without their help," Dr. Ainapurapu said.

Dr. Monica VandivortMonica Vandivort, MD

Dr. Vandivort is an assistant professor in the UA Division of Geriatrics, General Internal Medicine and Palliative Medicine, faculty in the UA Reynolds Program in Applied Geriatrics at the UA Center on Aging, and medical director of the Home Care Program at Banner – UMC Tucson and South.


Dr. Tirdad ZangenehTirdad Zangeneh, DO

Dr. Zangeneh is an associate professor in the UA Division of Infectious Diseases, associate director of the UA Internal Medicine Residency Program – Tucson Campus and director of the Infectious Disease Transplant Program at Banner – UMC Tucson.

"It is a privilege to work with Tirdad. His clinical acumen, passionate commitment to patient care, and good nature are an inspiration to all of us," said Elizabeth Connick, MD, professor of medicine and chief of the UA Division of Infectious Diseases.

Dr. Zangeneh replied that "providing excellent patient care is based on collaboration between many dedicated and caring health care providers" with whom he is privileged to work.

Dr. Erika BracamonteErika Bracamonte, MD

Dr. Bracamonte is a UA Department of Pathology associate professor with a dual appointment in the UA Division of Nephrology as the renal biopsy service director and who teaches Microscope Rounds and presents regularly on behalf of the Divisions of Nephrology and Rheumatology.

Upon learning of the recognition, Dr. Bracamonte said, “I am incredibly honored and humbled to be a recipient of this award. I am blessed to work each day with a group of amazing physician colleagues, wonderful residents, bright students, and dedicated laboratory staff. I am grateful for the opportunity to provide care for our patients, service to my institution, and teach trainees in the community that I love.”

Dr. Bracamonte also will be a winner at the 39th Annual UA College of Medicine – Tucson Faculty Teaching Awards & Vernon and Virginia Furrow Awards on Nov. 7 (noon-1 p.m.) in DuVal Auditorium. She is to receive the Furrow Award for Basic Science Teaching in the Undergraduate Medical Curriculum.

Last year, Dr. Bracamonte and Dr. Zangeneh both won the Dean’s List for Teaching Excellence – Year 2 award, her for the Cardiovascular, Pulmonary and Renal Systems Block and him for the Immunity & Infection Block.

For six other faculty members from other departments who are scheduled to be recognized at the COM-T General Faculty Meeting on Nov. 7 (4:30-5:30 p.m., followed by a reception), please click the original story link at the bottom of this page.

The selection of those receiving the new Clinical Excellence Awards was based on the following criteria:

  • Delivers consistently outstanding clinical care
  • Has an approximate clinical effort of .50 or higher FTE
  • Is readily available for consultation with other faculty, demonstrating an outstanding ability to assist and share expertise with colleagues
  • Encourages medical students and residents to ask questions and express their ideas or opinions
  • Uses innovative methods to assure a positive clinical outcome
  • Is humanistic in his/her approach to patient care and interaction with colleagues and other healthcare professionals
  • Demonstrates a sincere commitment to patient care and patient access to care

Under consideration at the COM – Tucson General Faculty Meeting are a proposed addition to the Promotion & Tenure Bylaws and a new “Specialty Instructor” title to recognize non-physician healthcare providers who contribute to the training of UA medical students, residents and/or fellows.

For related documents, see the meeting’s Event listing or click below for the meeting archives.


“Department of Medicine Faculty to Take Quarter of Honors at 2018 College Faculty Teaching Awards” | Posted Oct. 21, 2018
“UA College of Medicine Puts Out Call for Nominations for New ‘Clinical Excellence Award’” | Posted Aug. 24, 2018

Release Date: 
10/25/2018 - 12:00pm
Original Story: