Inaugural Clinical Excellence Award Winners Feted at COM – Tucson General Faculty Meeting

DOM Facebook post for photo album of Clinical Excellence Awards ceremonyCongratulations to Bujji Ainapurapu, MD; Erika Bracamonte, MD; Monica Vandivort, MD, and Tirdad Zangeneh, DO—four Department of Medicine faculty who were among 10 physicians at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson to be recognized Nov. 7 with inaugural Clinical Excellence Awards.

Presenting the honors was Irving Kron, MD, interim dean of the college, with assistance of Tejo Vemulapalli, MD, chief of the UA Division of Inpatient Medicine and departmental associate chair for quality and safety.

The presentation took place during the General Faculty Meeting, which was followed by a reception for the winners.

A hospitalist, Dr. Ainapurapu is an assistant professor in the UA Division of Inpatient Medicine and associate director for the UA Internal Medicine Residency Program – South Campus. A pathologist, Dr. Bracamonte is an associate professor in the Department of Pathology and Division of Nephrology and director of the Renal Biopsy Service. A geriatrician, Dr. Vandivort is an assistant professor in the UA Division of Geriatrics, General Internal Medicine and Palliative Medicine, faculty in the UA Reynolds Program in Applied Geriatrics at the UA Center on Aging, and medical director of the Home Care Program at Banner – UMC Tucson and South. And Dr. Zangeneh is an associate professor in the UA Division of Infectious Diseases, associate director of the UA Internal Medicine Residency Program – Tucson Campus and director of the Infectious Disease Transplant Program at Banner – UMC Tucson.

The awards ceremony was viewable online as it happened via the college's Facebook Live webpage.

Read more about the awards here:

For lists of other annual COM-T Clinical Excellence Award honorees (2018-2023), see this link

The following are a few pictures from a photo album posted to the DOM Facebook webpage (click images below to enlarge):

Dr. Mindy Fain (center) awaits the start of ceremonies  UA College of Medicine - Tucson Clinical Excellence Award trophies  Drs. Bujji Ainapurapu, Tejo Vemulapalli and Irv Kron

Among attendees at Clinical Excellence Awards, cardiologist Dr. Karl Kern  Drs. Tejo Vemulapalli, Monica Vandivort and Irv Kron  Drs. Tejo Vemulapalli, Naomi Rance, Erika Bracamonte and Irv Kron

Nephrology Chief Dr. Prabir Roy-Chaudhury congratulates Dr. Erika Bracamonte  Drs. Tejo Vemulapalli, Tirdad Zangeneh and Irv Kron  South Campus crew displays enthusiasm for Dr. Bujji Ainapurapu's award

See more photos from the ceremony and reception—inclduing of family, friends and colleagues supporting them—courtesy of photographer Rick Kopstein, UAHS BioCommunications, at this link. For documents related to the Nov. 7 or prior general faculty meetings of the UA College of Medicine – Tucson, see this link:

“Four from Department of Medicine Honored with First-Ever COM-T Clinical Excellence Awards” | Posted Oct. 25, 2018
“UA College of Medicine - Tucson Recognizes Best in Clinical Excellence Among Faculty” (UA College of Medicine – Tucson; lists six other winners) | Posted Oct. 25, 2018

Release Date: 
11/08/2018 - 9:00pm