Dr. Slepian among Regents Professors, Distinguished Faculty to Be Celebrated Jan. 13

Marvin J. Slepian, MD, in his Sarver Heart Center labCardiologist Dr. Marvin Slepian was among five University of Arizona faculty members confirmed as Regents Professors — the highest academic recognition awarded to faculty members with distinguished accomplishments — in April. He’ll be among the honorees at an induction ceremony Jan. 13.

The University of Arizona will honor its newest Regents Professors during an induction ceremony on Monday, Jan. 13.

The annual ceremony, which is free and open to the public, will be held at 6 p.m. in Crowder Hall at the Fred Fox School of Music, south of Speedway Boulevard and east of Park Avenue. A pre-reception with refreshments will be held at 4:30 p.m.

Fred Fox School of Music, Crowder Hall2020 Regents Professors, Distinguished Professors, and Distinguished Outreach Faculty Induction Ceremony
Monday, Jan. 13, 2020 | 6:00 p.m. (Reception: 4:30 p.m.)
Fred Fox School of Music, Crowder Hall, Room 109
1017 N. Olive Road
Tucson, AZ 85719
(Directions: Google Maps!)
Learn more

The Regents Professor designation is the highest level of recognition given to faculty in the Arizona university system. It is awarded to full professors whose work has earned national and international distinction in teaching scholarship, research or creative work.

Two other faculty members also will be recognized. One has been named a University Distinguished Professor, an honor given to faculty members who have made sustained contributions and demonstrated outstanding commitment to undergraduate education. The other has been named a University Distinguished Outreach Faculty, an honor that recognizes faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to outreach at the University and throughout Arizona and the United States.

Videos about each honoree will be screened at the ceremony, shining a spotlight on their work and accomplishments while also providing a glimpse into their lives outside academia. Videos about prior honorees are available on a University YouTube playlist here.

The honorees are:

Regents Professors

John P. Rutherfoord, PhD

Professor of Physics

Marvin J. Slepian, MD

Professor, Medicine (Division of Cardiology)
Professor, Medical Imaging
Professor and Associate Department Head, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Member, Sarver Heart Center and BIO5 Institute
McGuire Scholar, UA Eller College of Management
Director, Arizona Center for Accelerated Biomedical Innovation (ACABI)

Rod A. Wing, PhD

Bud Antle Endowed Chair in the School of Plant Sciences' Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Director, Arizona Genomics Institute
Member, BIO5 Institute

Lucy M. Ziurys, PhD

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Alfred S. McEwen, PhD, professor of planetary science and of geosciences, has chosen to be recognized at the 2021 induction ceremony.

Read more about the honorees in this UANews article.

University Distinguished Professor

Ty A. Ferré, PhD

Professor, Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences
Professor, Environmental Science

University Distinguished Outreach Faculty

Teshia G. Arambula Solomon, PhD

Associate Professor of Family and Community Medicine
Co-Director, Native American Research and Training Center
Member, UArizona Cancer Center

“Dr. Marvin Slepian Receives Much-Deserved Appointment as Regents' Professor” | Posted April 19, 2019

Release Date: 
12/12/2019 - 10:15am
Original Story: