Hospitalist Dr. Anil Potharaju Named among Ten 2019 Clinical Excellence Award Winners

Illustration of Clinical Excellence Awards 2019 | UA College of Medicine – TucsonAnil Potharaju, MD, a University of Arizona assistant professor of medicine and associate chief in the Division of Inpatient Medicine as well as medical director for inpatient medicine at Banner – University Medical Center South, will receive one of 10 Clinical Excellence Awards to be presented by the UA College of Medicine – Tucson at its next general faculty meeting. 

Presentation at General Faculty Meeting

Michael M.I. Abecassis, MD, Dean, University of Arizona College of Medicine – TucsonThe meeting, which will be the first for the college’s new dean, Michael M.I. Abecassis, MD, will be held 4:30-6:30 p.m., Wednesday, Nov. 20, in the HSIB Forum of the Health Sciences Innovation Building, 1670 E. Drachman St. The program will begin at 5 p.m. If you are interested in attending, please RSVP/register below.


Fall COM – T General Faculty Meeting | Nov. 20, 2019
For the agenda and committee report supporting documents, see this link.

Anil Potharaju, MDDr. Potharaju joined the faculty at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson in September 2009, following completion of his internal medicine residency training at St. Francis Hospital in Evanston, Ill. He earned his medical degree from Kasturba Medical College in Manipal, India (2004), and also holds a master’s in business administration from the UA Eller College of Management (2014). In addition, he completed the UA McGuire Center for Entrepreneurship Program (2014) and Banner Health Advanced Leadership Program (2018). He has been associate chief for the Division of Inpatient Medicine since 2012, medical director for inpatient medicine at Banner – UMC South since 2013 and a core faculty member for the UA Department of Medicine education programs since 2014. Dr. Potharaju is board certified in internal medicine and practice in hospital medicine by the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Other award winners this year include two physician faculty members from the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, two from the Department of Surgery, and one each from the Departments of Anesthesiology, Emergency Medicine, Family and Community Medicine, Pediatrics and Urology. Click here to view them all.

Defining Clinical Excellence

The Clinical Excellence Awards were created last year to recognize and celebrate exemplary patient care at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson established the Clinical Excellence Awards in 2018. The awards were conceived to recognize exceptional faculty members who exceed all standards of clinical excellence and inspire fellow peers on how to serve and care for patients.

Physicians at the assistant or associate professor level were nominated by colleagues in September. Nominees underwent rigorous review and were evaluated for their consistency in delivering exceptional clinical care; outstanding ability to assist and share expertise with colleagues; encouragement of medical students and residents to express ideas and ask questions; and use of innovative methods to assure positive clinical outcomes.

Awardees also were selected for their sincere compassion for patients and humanistic approach to patient care and interactions with other health care professionals.

Inaugural Award Winners

DOM-related winners of 2018 COM-T Clinical Excellence Awards (clockwise from upper left): Drs. Bujji Ainapurapu, Erka Bracamonte, Tirdad Zangeneh and Monica VandivortAmong the 10 faculty members who received awards in 2018 were the UA Department of Medicine’s Bujji Ainapurapu, MD (Division of Inpatient Medicine); Monica Vandivort, MD (Division of Geriatrics, General Internal and Palliative Medicine); and Tirdad Zangeneh, DO (Division of Infectious Diseases); as well as Erika Bracamonte, MD, a pathologist and renal biopsy service director who works closely with the Divisions of Nephrology and Rheumatology and teaches Microscope Rounds.

To request any disability-related accommodations for this event please contact the event coordinator at least three business days prior to the event — Ross DuBois, (520) 626-9037 or

“Call Issued on Nominations for 2nd Annual Clinical Excellence Awards” | Posted Aug. 28, 2019
“Dr. Potharaju among Co-authors of Winning Poster at S. Campus GME Scholarly Day” | Posted May 17, 2019
“Inaugural Clinical Excellence Award Winners Feted at COM – Tucson General Faculty Meeting” | Posted Nov. 8, 2018
“Four from Department of Medicine Honored with First-Ever COM-T Clinical Excellence Awards” | Posted Oct. 25, 2018
“South Campus Residents Treat Dr. Potharaju with Best Teaching Faculty Award” | June 19, 2017
“Dr. Potharaju Picked for Banner Health Leadership ‘Class of 2019’” | Posted April 4, 2017
“Drs. Vemulapalli, Potharaju Receive ‘Amazement Awards’ from Banner CEO” | Posted Jan. 20, 2017

Release Date: 
10/25/2019 - 10:45am
Original Story: