ECMO Program at The University of Arizona Medical Center Receives ‘ELSO Award for Excellence in Life Support’

The UAMC ECMO program exemplifies the distinction of an academic medical center, with its ability to collaborate with many highly-trained subspecialists to provide life-saving care for individuals with extremely complex illnesses—in Tucson and beyond.

Gregorio Named Interim Director of the UA Sarver Heart Center

“Dr. Gregorio is a great leader to bring the UA Sarver Heart Center through this time of transition as we work to conclude the national search for Dr. Ewy’s successor,” said Steve Goldschmid, MD, dean of the UA College of Medicine - Tucson.

Dr. Joe G.N. ‘Skip’ Garcia Appointed UA Senior Vice President for Health Sciences

Internationally noted physician-scientist, health administrator, scholar and educator joins the UA from the University of Illinois, where he served as the vice president for health affairs.

People and Programs On The Move at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson

The University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson held its annual leadership, teaching and quality improvement training, the Interprofessional Chief Resident Immersion Training Program (IP-CRIT), on June 8-9 to improve health outcomes for older adults.

People on the Move at the UA College of Medicine – Tucson

Dr. James Dalen receives honorary degree from the University of Massachusetts Medical School Worcester; Dr. Ana Maria Lopez named one of 25 Most Influential Hispanic Business Leaders in Arizona; Arizona Health Sciences Library, Tucson Campus, receives Team Award for Excellence.

University of Arizona Sarver Heart Members Honored by Community Organizations

Drs. Marcus recognized for lifetime acheivement by Pima County Medical Foundation; Dr. Sethi selected as Pima County Medical Society Physician of the Year for 2012; Dr. Mackstaller received inaugural “Community Impact Award” from Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Tucson Alumnae Chapter

Teaser image for Kudos article for Internal Medicine Residency Program – Tucson Campus (03-2013 to 05-2013)
Kudos for Internal Medicine Resident – University Campus | March 2013 – May 2014

See news bits on awards and accolades as well as papers, abstracts and posters presented and published from residents participating in the University of Arizona Internal Medicine Residency Program – University Campus from 2012 through May 2013…

Dr. C. Kent Kwoh, Renowned Expert in Joint Diseases, Appointed Director of the University of Arizona Arthritis Center

Internationally recognized expert in osteoarthritis, rheumatoid arthritis and other joint diseases to lead center beginning July 22.

Match Day in the Department of Medicine

Match Day is the culmination of four long years of medical school, when getting matched at a hospital in a specialty you desire, is perceived as a success. This is the hospital where students will spend the next three to seven years in training.

Dr. Jane Mohler Named AZ Gerontologist of the Year

Dr. Jane Mohler, Professor of Medicine, Associate Director of the Arizona Center on Aging, and Co-Director of the Arizona Geriatric Education Center, was awarded Arizona Gerontologist of the Year (2012), at the Arizona Geriatric Society’s annual meeting held in Phoenix.

Dr. Eric P. Gall Honored with 2012 Arthritis Foundation’s ‘Freedom of Movement Award’

Interim director and one of the founders of The University of Arizona Arthritis Center recognized for his long association and many leadership roles with the organization